Key Advising info

With the exception of first-semester freshmen/transfer students (who work with me), all Hofstra students with a declared major in The Lawrence Herbert School of Communication are assigned a permanent faculty advisor in their major department. All students are also assigned an Advisement Dean from the Center for University Advising, a counselor from the Office of Student Financial Services, and a representative from Hofstra’s newly launched Center for Academic Excellence. This cluster of support, known as the Success Team, is conveniently located on the Hofstra Portal of each student.

For those who are curious, here is a list of alll Herbert School faculty assigned as advisors for the fall semester. Students are encouraged to meet with their assigned advisor(s) at least once each semester. Wishing everyone a great start to the fall semester!

Department of Journalism, Media Studies, and Public Relations
Room 322, The Lawrence Herbert School of Communication
(516) 463-4873

Department Chairperson: Professor Carol Fletcher
Department Secretary: Carolina Machado

Dr. Kara S. Alaimo, Assistant Professor (Public Relations)
Office: L Herbert School Of Comm 307
E-mail: Kara.S.Alaimo@hofstra.edu
Voice: 516-463-5208

Dr. Mary Ann Allison, Associate Professor (Media Studies)
Office: L Herbert School Of Comm 313
E-mail: Mary-Ann.Allison@hofstra.edu
Voice: 516-463-7004

Suzanne N. Berman, Associate Professor (Public Relations)
Office: New Academic Building 419
E-mail: Suzanne.Berman@hofstra.edu
Voice: 516-463-4625

Susan J. Drucker, Professor (Media Studies)
Office: L Herbert School Of Comm 322B
E-mail: Susan.J.Drucker@hofstra.edu
Voice: 516-463-5304

Kelly A. Fincham, Assistant Professor (Journalism)
Office: L Herbert School Of Comm 145
E-mail: Kelly.Fincham@hofstra.edu
Voice: 516-463-4338

Carol T. Fletcher, Associate Professor & Chairperson (Journalism)
Office: L Herbert School Of Comm 322A
E-mail: Carol.T.Fletcher@hofstra.edu
Voice: 516-463-6464

Mario H. Gonzalez, Assistant Professor (Journalism)
Office: L Herbert School Of Comm 309C
E-mail: Mario.Gonzalez@hofstra.edu
Voice: 516-463-5203

Peter Goodman, Associate Professor (Journalism)
Office: New Academic Building 404
E-mail: Peter.Goodman@hofstra.edu
Voice: 516-463-6556

Jeffrey S. Morosoff, Assistant Professor (Public Relations)
Office: L Herbert School Of Comm 119
E-mail: Jeffrey.Morosoff@hofstra.edu
Voice: 516-463-5248

Joseph F. Peyronnin, Associate Professor (Journalism)
Office: New Academic Building 403
E-mail: Joseph.F.Peyronnin@hofstra.edu
Voice: 516-463-6463

Victoria F. Semple, Associate Professor (Public Relations)
Office: New Academic Building 412
E-mail: Victoria.Geyer@hofstra.edu
Voice: 516-463-6513

Daniel Van Benthuysen, Adjunct Associate Professor (Journalism)
Office: New Academic Building 405
E-mail: Daniel.VanBenthuysen@hofstra.edu
Voice: 516-463-5426

Dr. Jingsi Wu, Assistant Professor (Media Studies)
Office: New Academic Building 413
E-mail: Jingsi.Wu@hofstra.edu
Voice: 516-463-5226

Dr. Kristal B. Zook, Professor (Journalism)
Office: New Academic Building 409
E-mail: Kristal.Zook@hofstra.edu
Voice: 516-463-4304

Department of Radio, Television, Film
Room 124, The Lawrence Herbert School of Communication
(516) 463-5424

Department Chairperson: Professor Phil Katzman
Department Secretary: Mary Otarola

Dr. Isabelle Freda, Assistant Professor (Film)
Office: L Herbert School Of Comm 0309B
E-mail: Isabelle.Freda@hofstra.edu
Voice: 516-463-4634

Carlo A. Gennarelli, Assistant Professor (Television)
Office: New Academic Building 414
E-mail: Carlo.Gennarelli@hofstra.edu
Voice: 516-463-4762

Dr. Peter R. Gershon, Associate Professor (Television)
Office: L Herbert School Of Comm 116
E-mail: Peter.R.Gershon@hofstra.edu
Voice: 516-463-5425

Dr. Rodney F. Hill, Assistant Professor (Film)
Office: New Academic Building 415
E-mail: Rodney.F.Hill@hofstra.edu
Voice: 516-463-7038

Randal K. Hillebrand (Television)
Office: L Herbert School Of Comm 120
E-mail: Randal.K.Hillebrand@hofstra.edu
Voice: 516-463-5205

William I. Jennings, Associate Professor (Film)
Office: L Herbert School Of Comm 200
E-mail: William.Jennings@hofstra.edu
Voice: 516-463-6143

Dr. Nancy F. Kaplan, Associate Professor (Television)
Office: New Academic Building 406
E-mail: Nancy.F.Kaplan@hofstra.edu
Voice: 516-463-5429

Dr. Dennis W. Mazzocco, Professor (Television)
Office: L Herbert School Of Comm 322B
E-mail: Dennis.W.Mazzocco@hofstra.edu
Voice: 516-463-6462

Phil Katzman, Associate Professor & Chairperson (Film)
Office: L Herbert School Of Comm 123
E-mail: Phil.Katzman@Hofstra.edu
Voice: 516-463-6579

Aashish Kumar, Associate Professor (Television)
Office: L Herbert School Of Comm 303
E-mail: Aashish.Kumar@hofstra.edu
Voice: 516-463-6573

Michelle J. Lisi
Office: New Academic Building 421
E-mail: Michelle.J.Lisi@hofstra.edu

Douglas A. Morrow (Television)
Office: New Academic Building 417
E-mail: Douglas.A.Morrow@hofstra.edu
Voice: 516-463-6576

Mario A. Murillo, Professor (Radio)
Office: L Herbert School Of Comm 123
E-mail: Mario.A.Murillo@hofstra.edu
Voice: 516-463-6062

Christine Noschese, Associate Professor (Film)
Office: L Herbert School Of Comm 322C
E-mail: Christine.Noschese@hofstra.edu
Voice: 516-463-6549